Our Collections     

Tapley Memorial Hall, built in 1930, houses the Society’s large and varied local history collections.

The DHS collections are diverse and contain some remarkable artifacts. The DHS also holds an extensive collection of textiles. Funded in part by a Digital Capacity grant from Mass Humanities, the Society is in the process of photographing, digitizing and presenting artifacts to our on-line audience.

Hours and Tours

Tapley Memorial Hall, 13 Page Street, is open for special exhibits and programs. Please check our events page for updated exhibits at Tapley Hall.

Tapley Memorial Hall a unique setting for showers, concerts, lectures, cocktail receptions, holiday parties and other special events.

For information about holding your event at Tapley Hall, please click here.

Tapley Hall Exterior, Brick building with green grass

Collections On-Line

Spring 2021, MassHumanities awarded the Society with a Digital Capacity Grant. Volunteers and professionals are coming together to photograph artifacts in the collection, write narrative on their histories, and present them in a new website format. Salem State University students’ research from previous years provide an excellent starting point to expand the stories behind these objects.

Spring 2019, as part of Danvers High School’s Senior Internship program, the Society’s Come Grow With Us program welcomed Apollo Mooney and Alexandra Gagnon to the Page Street Campus to research artifacts in our collections at Tapley Memorial Hall and the Jeremiah Page House. Both programs provide students with a real world, career-oriented experience. Apollo and Alexandra, having an interest in pursuing history in their future studies, chose a wide range of artifacts. Their narratives and photos will be seen here and on the Society’s facebook and instagram feeds. They also exhibited some artifacts at their High School Internship Showcase. We welcome everyone to share their knowledge with us!